The last round of the 2016 FIM Supersport World Championship takes place this weekend at the Losail International Circuit in Qatar, with PJ Jacobsen and the Honda WorldSSP Team ready to battle for the runner-up spot in the series on the 5.38 km long and fast track located on the outskirts of Doha.

Jacobsen currently sits fourth in the championship standings, although just seven points away from the rider currently in second place, Switzerland’s Randy Krummenacher. Last time out in Jerez, the 23-year-old American rider was only 0.1secs short of a podium finish on board his Honda CBR600RR machine.

The final race of the 2016 World Supersport season will get underway on Sunday 31 October at 19:15 local time.

PJ Jacobsen

PJ Jacobsen 2

I’m really looking forward to this last weekend of the season. I feel the most relaxed I have been all year and I know what I need to do this weekend to get the job done. Jerez was not too bad in the end, but I know where our problems have been so this time we should have that all worked out. I won’t give up and I will do anything possible to be in front of the two guys I need to be ahead of.

Honda WorldSSP
Pieter Breddels

Pieter Breddels

Technical Manager

This is probably not PJ’s favourite track of the year – if we look at his past results in Qatar – but he is ready to fight to the finish. We are still very much in contention for the runner-up spot in the championship and we will take our chances this weekend. The bike performs really well at this track as we won the race last year, and I’m pretty sure that once there’ll be some rubber down the grip will be really good.

Honda WorldSSP
Round 12 – Qatar

Losail International Circuit, Qatar

WorldSSP 2016, Round 12

Rider Standings
Sunday, 16 Oct 2016 - Open world standings grid
# Rider Num Nationality Nat. Points Pts. Team Constructor Constr.
1 Kenan SOFUOGLU 54 TUR 196 Kawasaki Puccetti Racing Kawasaki
2 Randy KRUMMENACHER 21 SWI 129 Kawasaki Puccetti Racing Kawasaki
3 Jules CLUZEL 16 FRA 126 MV Agusta Reparto Corse MV Agusta
4 PJ JACOBSEN 2 USA 122 Honda WorldSSP Honda
5 Kyle SMITH 111 GBR 99 CIA Landlord Insurance Honda Honda
6 Gino REA 4 GBR 81 GRT Racing Team MV Agusta
7 Ayrton BADOVINI 86 ITA 75 Gemar Ballons – Team Lorini Honda
8 Federico CARICASULO 64 ITA 74 Bardahl Evan Bros. Honda Racing Honda
9 Alex BALDOLINI 25 ITA 74 Race Department ATK#25 MV Agusta
10 Niki TUULI 66 FIN 60 Kallio Racing Yamaha
11 Lorenzo ZANETTI 87 ITA 60 MV Agusta Reparto Corse MV Agusta
12 Axel BASSANI 47 ITA 54 San Carlo Team Italia Kawasaki
13 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN 63 MAL 47 Orelac Racing VerdNadura Kawasaki
14 Ilya MIKHALCHIK 55 UKR 38 DS Junior Team Kawasaki
15 Luke STAPLEFORD 81 GBR 35 Profile Racing Triumph
16 Ondrej JEZEK 69 CZE 35 Team Go Eleven Kawasaki
17 Alessandro ZACCONE 61 ITA 31 San Carlo Team Italia Kawasaki
18 Nicolas TEROL 88 SPA 30 Schmidt Racing MV Agusta
19 Christian GAMARINO 11 ITA 30 Team Go Eleven Kawasaki
20 Christoffer BERGMAN 71 SWE 22 CIA Landlord Insurance Honda Honda
21 Anthony WEST 95 AUS 16 Montaze Broz Racing Team Suter
22 Kevin WAHR 19 GER 16 Gemar Ballons – Team Lorini Honda
23 Hikari OKUBO 78 JPN 16 CIA Landlord Insurance Honda Honda
24 Roberto ROLFO 44 ITA 14 Team Factory Vamag MV Agusta
25 Kyle RYDE 77 GBR 11 Schmidt Racing MV Agusta
26 Aiden WAGNER 41 AUS 9 GRT Racing Team MV Agusta
27 Glenn SCOTT 68 AUS 7 Gemar Ballons – Team Lorini Honda
28 Davide STIRPE 6 ITA 6 Floramo Monaco Racing Team SM Honda
29 Xavier PINSACH 80 SPA 6 Gemar Ballons – Team Lorini Honda
30 Decha KRAISART 24 THA 5 Yamaha Thailand Yamaha
31 Hannes SOOMER 38 EST 4 Kallio Racing Yamaha
32 Kevin MANFREDI 43 ITA 4 Phoenix Racing Suzuki Suzuki
33 Luigi MORCIANO ITA 3 Team Go Eleven Kawasaki
34 Alex PHILLIS 48 AUS 2 Aark Racing Honda
35 Nacho CALERO 10 SPA 1 Orelac Racing VerdNadura Kawasaki
36 1
37 Mitch LEVY AUS 1 Landbridge Racing Yamaha