The leader of the TrialGP World Championship, Toni Bou, set the fastest time today after performing an impeccable qualifying session. Takahisa Fujinami had to settle for thirteenth position.

The Belgian TrialGP qualifying section played out on a sweltering day in the midst of a heatwave in the tiny village of Comblain-au-Pont in the heart of the Valonia region, as the championship arrives at round four. The terrain featured the presence of large rocks and sand which made for a slippery ordeal for some of the participants attempting the section.

Toni Bou had a red letter day and was the fastest rider in both qualifying attempts. After a swift Q1, with the Repsol Honda Team rider making it around the section in just 28 seconds, Q2 proved to be even quicker clocking in at below 24 seconds.

Bou’s team-mate at Repsol Honda Team, Takahisa Fujinami favoured less well in the qualifying session of today. “Fujigas” made an error at the end of the first pass and notched up another fault the second time around, which means that tomorrow the Japanese rider will start out among the first of the TrialGP competitors. It could prove to be just the challenge for the Japanese stalwart.

The trial in Comblain-au-Pont will consist of a total of fifteen sections to be taken over two laps on a ten-kilometre course. The prize-giving podium is scheduled to be held around 15:45 CET.

Toni Bou

Toni Bou 1

The truth is that we are on a roll and when things go well, it makes you want to push harder and do things even better. Today we went for the pole right from Q1 and it went well. Tomorrow will be a tough trial, where it will be easy to make mistakes. In areas there are many climbs, so if you start badly can become very easy to mess up. It will be difficult to make a difference, but we will try to take advantage of the fact that I’m starting out from the rear. I think we are doing very well and we have to continue with this line.

Repsol Honda Team
Takahisa Fujinami

Takahisa Fujinami 6

Today has not been my best day but that's the way things are. In Q1 the weather was good but I went over the tape. By Q2 I felt calm and also had a good pace but the bike stopped on me. I like the terrain, but the sections look easy. Tomorrow I will have to open the trial, it will be difficult but I will try to give it my best shot.

Repsol Honda Team
Trial of Belgium

Comblain au Pont, Belgium

Trial 2019, Round 4

Saturday 29 Jun 2019, 21:35 UTC
# Rider Num Nationality Nat. L1 Total Team Constructor Constr. Time/Gap
1 Toni Bou 1 SPA 0 23.97 Repsol Honda Team Montesa
2 James Dabill 22 GBR 0 26.66 Beta Factory Racing Beta
3 Jaime Busto SPA 0 28.75 Vertigo Factory Team Vertigo
4 Benoit Bincaz FRA 0 29.06 Beta Factory Racing Beta
5 Adam Raga SPA 0 29.11 TRS Factory Team TRS
6 Jorge Casales 33 SPA 0 29.21 Vertigo Factory Team Vertigo
7 Jeroni Fajardo 2 SPA 0 29.77 Gas Gas Factory Team Gas Gas
8 Arnau Farre 19 SPA 0 29.83 Team Jotagas JTG
9 Miquel Gelabert 9 SPA 0 30.03 Sherco Factory Team Sherco
10 Dan Peace 38 GBR 0 30.99 Sherco Factory Team Sherco
11 Franz Kadlec 66 GER 0 35.65 TRS Factory Team TRS
12 Jack Price 34 GBR 0 37.50 Gas Gas Factory Team Gas Gas
13 Takahisa Fujinami 6 JPN 5 5 Repsol Honda Team Montesa
Rider Standings
Sunday, 23 Jun 2019 - Open world standings grid
# Rider Num Nationality Nat. Points Pts. Team Constructor Constr.
1 Toni BOU 1 SPA 80 Repsol Honda Team Montesa
2 Adam RAGA SPA 66 TRS Factory Team TRS
3 Takahisa FUJINAMI 6 JPN 53 Repsol Honda Team Montesa
4 Jeroni FAJARDO 2 SPA 50 Gas Gas Factory Team Gas Gas
5 James DABILL 22 GBR 42 Beta Factory Racing Beta
6 Jaime BUSTO SPA 40 Vertigo Factory Team Vertigo
7 Franz KADLEC 66 GER 36 TRS Factory Team TRS
8 Jorge CASALES 33 SPA 32 Vertigo Factory Team Vertigo
9 Benoit BINCAZ FRA 30 Beta Factory Racing Beta
10 Miquel GELABERT 9 SPA 27 Sherco Factory Team Sherco
11 Jack PRICE 34 GBR 23 Gas Gas Factory Team Gas Gas
12 Dan PEACE 38 GBR 10 Sherco Factory Team Sherco
13 Oriol NOGUERA 13 SPA 10 Team Jotagas JTG
14 Kenichi KUROYAMA 98 JPN 7 Gas Gas Factory Team Gas Gas
15 Andrea RIVA 96 ITA 6 TRS Factory Team TRS
16 Arnau FARRE 19 SPA 6 Team Jotagas JTG
17 Tomoyuki OGAWA 97 JPN 3 Honda Honda
18 Fumitaka NOZAKI 99 JPN 3 Yamaha Yamaha