Repsol Honda Team’s Toni Bou clinches a fourth consecutive season ‘pole position’ in the qualifying section of round six of the 2019 TrialGP World Championship held today in Auron, France. ‘Fujigas’ recorded the eighth best time.

The Repsol Honda Team duo performed well in the qualifying session in France this afternoon. Toni Bou and Takahisa Fujinami posted the first and eighth best times respectively, which will see the riders start tomorrow’s main event from advantageous positions at the rear of the field.

Toni Bou, who had already given a display of speed over the first lap, once again registered the fastest time around Q2 in 26.64 seconds – a time which proved to be unmatchable. Tomorrow (Sunday), Bou will start out from the back, giving the champ a fine vantage point from which to observe his adversaries.

Takahisa Fujinami, looking very at ease today, made his first pass through the qualifying section with the day’s fifth quickest time. On Q2, in an effort to speed up still further, the rider suffered a spectacular fall, fortunately without serious consequences. The aggregate score sees the Repsol Honda Team qualify with the eighth fastest time on the day.

Proceedings kick off tomorrow at 10:00 CET in a fifteen-section event to be tackled over two laps. The prize-giving podium is scheduled for 16:15.

Toni Bou

Toni Bou 1

On the first attempt, I went out to try and guarantee a good time to be able to start from behind tomorrow. In Q2 I had to push hard as several riders had managed to lower the time of the first lap. We tried not to get hurt as these areas are often dangerous. Assuming the minimum amount of risk, I managed to be fast enough to be able to start from the rear tomorrow. The first part of the trial looks easy, but it will get more difficult as we go along. We are expecting a trial with a lot of grip. The fact that the sections are also very steep and the altitude could be two very influential factors.

Repsol Honda Team
Takahisa Fujinami

Takahisa Fujinami 6

Today I went quite fast through Q1 and, the second time around, I saw that several riders had speeded up so I tried to push a bit so that tomorrow I could get a good starting position at the back. Finally, I ended up eighth as I fell badly. It's been pretty tough, but luckily I didn’t get hurt. Tomorrow I will start out from the middle of the group. We will try to give it everything, as always.

Repsol Honda Team
Trial of France

Auron, France

Trial 2019, Round 6

Saturday 20 Jul 2019, 20:14 UTC
# Rider Num Nationality Nat. L1 Total Team Constructor Constr. Time/Gap
1 Toni Bou 1 SPA 0 26'64 Repsol Honda Team Montesa
2 Jeroni Fajardo 2 SPA 0 28'20 Gas Gas Factory Team Gas Gas +
3 Jaime Busto SPA 0 28'31 Vertigo Factory Team Vertigo +
4 Adam Raga SPA 0 28'69 TRS Factory Team TRS +
5 Jorge Casales 33 SPA 0 29'01 Vertigo Factory Team Vertigo +
6 Miquel Gelabert 9 SPA 0 30'52 Sherco Factory Team Sherco +
7 James Dabill 22 GBR 0 31'40 Beta Factory Racing Beta +
8 Takahisa Fujinami 6 JPN 0 31'66 Repsol Honda Team Montesa +
9 Dan Peace 38 GBR 0 31'77 Sherco Factory Team Sherco +
10 Benoit Bincaz FRA 0 32'43 Beta Factory Racing Beta +
11 Franz Kadlec 66 GER 0 32'76 TRS Factory Team TRS +
12 Arnau Farre 19 SPA 0 35'41 Team Jotagas JTG +
13 Andrea Riva 96 ITA 0 38'66 TRS Factory Team TRS +
14 Jack Price 34 GBR 5 5 Gas Gas Factory Team Gas Gas +
Rider Standings
Sunday, 14 Jul 2019 - Open world standings grid
# Rider Num Nationality Nat. Points Pts. Team Constructor Constr.
1 Toni BOU 1 SPA 120 Repsol Honda Team Montesa
2 Adam RAGA SPA 98 TRS Factory Team TRS
3 Jeroni FAJARDO 2 SPA 82 Gas Gas Factory Team Gas Gas
4 Takahisa FUJINAMI 6 JPN 77 Repsol Honda Team Montesa
5 James DABILL 22 GBR 60 Beta Factory Racing Beta
6 Jaime BUSTO SPA 60 Vertigo Factory Team Vertigo
7 Jorge CASALES 33 SPA 55 Vertigo Factory Team Vertigo
8 Franz KADLEC 66 GER 47 TRS Factory Team TRS
9 Benoit BINCAZ FRA 46 Beta Factory Racing Beta
10 Miquel GELABERT 9 SPA 41 Sherco Factory Team Sherco
11 Jack PRICE 34 GBR 31 Gas Gas Factory Team Gas Gas
12 Dan PEACE 38 GBR 17 Sherco Factory Team Sherco
13 Arnau FARRE 19 SPA 17 Team Jotagas JTG
14 Oriol NOGUERA 13 SPA 10 Team Jotagas JTG
15 Kenichi KUROYAMA 98 JPN 7 Gas Gas Factory Team Gas Gas
16 Andrea RIVA 96 ITA 6 TRS Factory Team TRS
17 Tomoyuki OGAWA 97 JPN 3 Honda Honda
18 Fumitaka NOZAKI 99 JPN 3 Yamaha Yamaha