A conservative Marc Marquez ended the opening day in Assen in seventh, after suffering a heavy fall in FP1 Jorge Lorenzo has been forced to withdraw from the Dutch GP.

Cool morning proceedings gave way to warm running in the afternoon at the 2019 Dutch GP. Marc Marquez started the day with sixth place in Free Practice 1. Improving his time by over a second, the reigning MotoGP World Champion finished the day seventh overall. Once again, the pace of the top ten was within a second and Marquez remains confident in his approach come Sunday.

Jorge Lorenzo’s Dutch GP was unfortunately cut short by a crash at Turn 7 during Free Practice 1. The five-time World Champion fell heavily and suffered a stable fracture to the T6 vertebra. An MRI was performed after, revealing a trabecular fracture in the T8 vertebra as well confirming the T6 fracture. He will soon travel to his home in Lugano, Switzerland.

Running resumes in Assen for the MotoGP class at 09:55 Saturday, June 29, with Free Practice 3.

Marc Marquez

Marc Marquez 93

Seventh on Friday isn’t a panic, we are working for the race and looking to analyse everything. Different tyres and all of these things, working for Sunday. There are four or five riders with a similar pace at the moment but we are there, that’s important. We keep working. It was also very special today to be alongside some of Honda’s legends to celebrate the 60th anniversary of Honda Racing. I’m very sorry for Lorenzo and wish him a speedy recovery.

Repsol Honda Team
Jorge Lorenzo

Jorge Lorenzo 99

Due to the fall I fractured both my T6 and T8 vertebrae. The injury does not allow me to race here in Assen or at the Sachsenring. Tomorrow morning I will fly to Lugano and do all the possible treatments to get ready to go to Brno.

Repsol Honda Team
Motul TT Assen

TT Circuit Assen, Netherlands

MotoGP 2019, Round 8

Sunny / 23
Friday 28 Jun 2019, 15:06 UTC
  • Track Condition: Dry
  • Air Temp: 23°C
  • Humidity: 50%
  • Ground Temp: 43°C
# Rider Num Nationality Nat. Team Constructor Constr. Time/Gap
1 Maverick Viñales 12 SPA Yamaha Factory Racing Team Yamaha 1'32.638
2 Fabio Quartararo 20 FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha +0.180
3 Danilo Petrucci 9 ITA Ducati Team Ducati +0.314
4 Andrea Dovizioso 4 ITA Ducati Team Ducati +0.585
5 Alex Rins 42 SPA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +0.667
6 Andrea Iannone 29 ITA Aprilia Racing Team Aprilia +0.717
7 Marc Marquez 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda +0.775
8 Joan Mir 36 SPA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +0.777
9 Valentino Rossi 46 ITA Yamaha Factory Racing Team Yamaha +0.879
10 Cal Crutchlow 35 GBR LCR Honda Honda +1.089
11 Francesco Bagnaia 63 ITA Alma Pramac Racing Ducati +1.177
12 Karel Abraham 17 CZE Reale Avintia Racing Ducati +1.216
13 Jack Miller 43 AUS Alma Pramac Racing Ducati +1.236
14 Franco Morbidelli 21 ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha +1.325
15 Pol Espargaro 44 SPA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +1.333
16 Takaaki Nakagami 30 JPN LCR Honda Honda +1.402
17 Johann Zarco 5 FRA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +1.556
18 Tito Rabat 53 SPA Reale Avintia Racing Ducati +1.732
19 Aleix Espargaro 41 SPA Aprilia Racing Team Aprilia +1.899
20 Miguel Oliveira 88 POR KTM Tech 3 Racing KTM +1.990
21 Hafizh Syahrin 55 THA KTM Tech 3 Racing KTM +2.612
22 Jorge Lorenzo 99 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda +3.023
Rider Standings
Sunday, 16 Jun 2019 - Open world standings grid
# Rider Num Nationality Nat. Points Pts. Team Constructor Constr.
1 Marc MARQUEZ 93 SPA 140 Repsol Honda Team Honda
2 Andrea DOVIZIOSO 4 ITA 103 Ducati Team Ducati
3 Alex RINS 42 SPA 101 Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki
4 Danilo PETRUCCI 9 ITA 98 Ducati Team Ducati
5 Valentino ROSSI 46 ITA 72 Yamaha Factory Racing Team Yamaha
6 Jack MILLER 43 AUS 53 Alma Pramac Racing Ducati
7 Fabio QUARTARARO 20 FRA 51 Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha
8 Takaaki NAKAGAMI 30 JPN 48 LCR Honda Honda
9 Pol ESPARGARO 44 SPA 47 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
10 Cal CRUTCHLOW 35 GBR 42 LCR Honda Honda
11 Maverick VIñALES 12 SPA 40 Yamaha Factory Racing Team Yamaha
12 Franco MORBIDELLI 21 ITA 34 Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha
13 Aleix ESPARGARO 41 SPA 27 Aprilia Racing Team Aprilia
14 Joan MIR 36 SPA 22 Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki
15 Jorge LORENZO 99 SPA 19 Repsol Honda Team Honda
16 Johann ZARCO 5 FRA 16 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
17 Miguel OLIVEIRA 88 POR 12 KTM Tech 3 Racing KTM
18 Andrea IANNONE 29 ITA 12 Aprilia Racing Team Aprilia
19 Tito RABAT 53 SPA 9 Reale Avintia Racing Ducati
20 Francesco BAGNAIA 63 ITA 9 Alma Pramac Racing Ducati
21 Michele PIRRO 51 ITA 9 Ducati Test Team Ducati
22 Stefan BRADL 6 GER 6 HRC Test Team Honda
23 Sylvain GUINTOLI 50 FRA 3 Suzuki Test Team Suzuki
24 Hafizh SYAHRIN 55 THA 2 KTM Tech 3 Racing KTM
25 Karel ABRAHAM 17 CZE 2 Reale Avintia Racing Ducati