Jorge Martin (Del Conca Gresini Moto3 Honda NSF250RW) scored a brilliant Moto3 pole position at a critical time of the season, topping an action-packed qualifying session by 0.257 seconds. This was an incredible tenth pole position of the season for the 20-year old and his 19th overall in the class. Once again, Martin proved his huge talent on a single flying lap.

The championship leader has a point to prove tomorrow after a costly crash in the Japanese Grand Prix, which saw his advantage in the title race slashed to a single point. Martin will take comfort in the fact that his two remaining championship rivals Marco Bezzecchi and Fabio Di Giannantonio (Del Conca Gresini Moto3 Honda NSF250RW) qualified 15th and 17th.

Japanese teenager Ayumu Sasaki (Petronas Sprinta Racing Honda NSF250RW) scored a sensational front-row start, his third place equalling his best qualifying performance. The 2016 Red Bull Rookies Champion enjoyed his joint best race result at this circuit a year ago, with a seventh-place finish.

Seventeen-year-old Italian Tony Arbolino (Marinelli Rivacold Snipers Honda NSF250RW) backed up his impressive speed throughout the weekend by qualifying in seventh. Aron Canet (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda NSF250RW) was tenth, and will be hopeful of finishing his first race since the Austrian Grand Prix in early August.

The Australian Grand Prix is the second of three Grand Prix events in as many weekends. After Sunday’s race, the paddock packs up to fly north Malaysia for the Malaysian Grand Prix, the penultimate round of the season, at the impressive Sepang International Circuit. The series draws to a close at the Ricardo Tormo Circuit, Valencia, Spain, on November 18.

Jorge Martin

Jorge Martin 88

1st / 1m 36.591s

“We managed to be competitive already this morning on wet track, which is something we had struggled to do in Japan. Despite the strong wind, we showed a good pace on the dry this afternoon despite lapping on our own and we were able to make a final decision on the tire to use tomorrow. We also took pole position in the process, so it has definitely been a positive day for us. We need to stay focused though, as points are earned tomorrow.”

Del Conca Gresini Moto3
Ayumu Sasaki

Ayumu Sasaki 71

3rd / 1m 37.117s

“This is a circuit I love a lot and that really suits my riding style, so I am so happy to make the front row! I have a very good feeling with the bike, which is important here, especially with the wind and low temperatures. I feel strong which will be important because for sure there will be many riders fighting for the podium tomorrow!”

Petronas Sprinta Racing
Tony Arbolino

Tony Arbolino 14

7th / 1m 37.579s

“A Very positive day. I am happy as I turned completely alone and this was what I needed. I am the third Honda and, here, it was important to count even that. We are ready for tomorrow, we only have to choose the tire and then we can play this out.”

Marinelli Snipers Team
Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix

Phillip Island, Australia

Moto3 2018, Round 17

Saturday 27 Oct 2018, 14:43 UTC
# Rider Num Nationality Nat. Team Constructor Constr. Time/Gap
1 Jorge Martin 88 SPA Del Conca Gresini Moto3 Honda 1'36.591
2 Darryn Binder 40 RSA Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM +1'36.848
3 Ayumu Sasaki 71 JPN Petronas Sprinta Racing Honda +1'37.117
4 Jakub Kornfeil 84 CZE PruestlGP KTM +1'37.357
5 Gabriel Rodrigo 19 RSM RBA BOE Skull Rider KTM +1'37.465
6 Philipp Oettl 65 GER Sudmetal Schedl GP Racing KTM +1'37.540
7 Tony Arbolino 14 ITA Marinelli Snipers Team Honda +1'37.579
8 Marcos Ramirez 42 SPA Bester Capital Dubai KTM +1'37.711
9 Dennis Foggia 10 ITA SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM +1'37.757
10 Aron Canet 44 SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda +1'37.844
11 Albert Arenas 16 SPA Angel Nieto Team Moto3 KTM +1'37.892
12 Kaito Toba 27 JPN Honda Team Asia Honda +1'37.896
13 Adam Norrodin 7 MAL Petronas Sprinta Racing Honda +1'37.943
14 Enea Bastianini 33 ITA Leopard Racing Honda +1'37.995
15 Marco Bezzecchi 12 ITA PruestlGP KTM +1'38.011
16 Alonso Lopez 72 SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda +1'38.017
17 Fabio di Giannantonio 21 ITA Del Conca Gresini Moto3 Honda +1'38.021
18 John Mcphee 17 GBR CIP – Green Power KTM +1'38.034
19 Jaume Masia 5 SPA Bester Capital Dubai KTM +1'38.414
20 Lorenzo Dalla Porta 48 ITA Leopard Racing Honda +1'38.590
21 Vicente Perez 77 SPA Reale Avintia Academy KTM +1'38.828
22 Celestino Vietti 31 ITA SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM +1'38.853
Rider Standings
Sunday, 21 Oct 2018 - Open world standings grid
# Rider Num Nationality Nat. Points Pts. Team Constructor Constr.
1 Jorge MARTIN 88 SPA 204 Del Conca Gresini Moto3 Honda
2 Marco BEZZECCHI 12 ITA 203 PruestlGP KTM
3 Fabio DI GIANNANTONIO 21 ITA 175 Del Conca Gresini Moto3 Honda
4 Enea BASTIANINI 33 ITA 142 Leopard Racing Honda
5 Lorenzo DALLA PORTA 48 ITA 131 Leopard Racing Honda
6 Aron CANET 44 SPA 118 Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda
7 Gabriel RODRIGO 19 RSM 116 RBA BOE Skull Rider KTM
8 Jakub KORNFEIL 84 CZE 108 PruestlGP KTM
9 Marcos RAMIREZ 42 SPA 90 Bester Capital Dubai KTM
10 Andrea MIGNO 16 ITA 79 Angel Nieto Team Moto3 KTM
11 Albert ARENAS 16 SPA 69 Angel Nieto Team Moto3 KTM
12 Jaume MASIA 5 SPA 66 Bester Capital Dubai KTM
13 John MCPHEE 17 GBR 60 CIP – Green Power KTM
14 Philipp OETTL 65 GER 57 Sudmetal Schedl GP Racing KTM
15 Niccolò ANTONELLI 23 ITA 56 SIC58 Squadra Corse Honda
16 Dennis FOGGIA 10 ITA 55 SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM
17 Tatsuki SUZUKI 24 JPN 51 SIC58 Squadra Corse Honda
18 Tony ARBOLINO 14 ITA 49 Marinelli Snipers Team Honda
19 Darryn BINDER 40 RSA 44 Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM
20 Ayumu SASAKI 71 JPN 39 Petronas Sprinta Racing Honda
21 Adam NORRODIN 7 MAL 37 Petronas Sprinta Racing Honda
22 Kaito TOBA 27 JPN 33 Honda Team Asia Honda
23 Alonso LOPEZ 72 SPA 31 Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda
24 Nicolò BULEGA 8 ITA 18 SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM
25 Vicente PEREZ 77 SPA 13 Reale Avintia Academy KTM
26 Raul FERNANDEZ 25 SPA 13 Angel Nieto Team Moto3 KTM
27 Makar YURCHENKO 76 RUS 9 CIP – Green Power KTM
28 Livio LOI 11 BEL 8 Reale Avintia Academy KTM
29 Kazuki MASAKI 22 JPN 8 RBA BOE Skull Rider KTM
30 Chantra SOMKIAT THA 7 AP Honda Racing Thailand Honda
31 Manual PAGLIANI 96 ITA 6 Leopard Racing Honda
32 Nakarin ATIRATPHUVAP 41 THA 2 Honda Team Asia Honda
33 Celestino VIETTI 31 ITA 2 SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM
34 Ai OGURA 32 JPN 1 Asia Talent Team Honda