Honda riders will fill three of the top five places at the front of tomorrow’s Moto3 grid, with Aron Canet (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda NSF250RW) the best-placed Honda man in third place. Canet was just 0.187 seconds behind pole-sitter Gabriel Rodrigo (KTM), who took full advantage of riding at KTM’s home circuit.

Honda riders currently hold the top five places in the MotoGP title chase, most of them well-placed after qualifying. Next-best Honda qualifier Enea Bastianini (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda NSF250RW) was fourth fastest, equalling his best grid position of 2017 and hoping that this performance will allow him to challenge for a first podium of the year.

Fourth-overall John McPhee (British Team Honda NSF250RW) will start from the middle of row two in fifth place. World Championship leader Joan Mir (Leopard Racing Honda NSF250RW), who won six of the first ten races, was an uncharacteristic tenth fastest, so he will need a good start tomorrow to make sure he can run with the front group. Alongside the Spanish teenager on the fourth row will be French GP winner Romano Fenati (Marinelli Rivacold Snipers Honda NSF250RW) and Livio Loi (Leopard Racing Honda NSF250RW), winner of the 2015 Indianapolis Moto3 race.

Jorge Martin (Del Conca Gresini Racing Moto3 Honda NSF250RW), returning from an ankle injury, was 13th fastest. Adam Norrodin (SIC Racing Team Honda NSF250RW) was 15th and Ayumu Sasaki (SIC Racing Team Honda NSF250RW) 18th.

Aron Canet

Aron Canet 44


“I think we have a good pace. We’ve been working hard and riding completely alone all weekend, because it was what we were looking for. Last year I had a hard time braking late, but this year I have felt comfortable from the outset under braking and overtaking, which is the hardest thing at this circuit since everyone brakes very late. We hope to be in the front group in the race; we have to be careful, but also fight to finish the race as high up as possible.”

Estrella Galicia 0,0
Enea Bastianini

Enea Bastianini 33


“We were up at the front since FP1, so we knew that we could do well today. Then, as always, qualifying was tough, because there is usually a lot of traffic on the track and it is important to go out at the right time. In the end we decided to push hard alone and I was able to do a good lap. My riding style suits this circuit very well and I hope to have a good race tomorrow. We had targeted starting from the first positions on the grid, and to do so from fourth is not at all bad. I am very satisfied with the work we have done and with the feeling I have on the bike.”

Estrella Galicia 0,0
John Mcphee

John Mcphee 17


“With the times being so close, we can be happy with P5 today. I feel strong on the bike and with a good start tomorrow I’m confident I can fight for the podium. Again, qualifying was a gamble today but being in the front few rows is key for the race.”

British Talent Team
NeroGiardini Motorrad Grand Prix von Österreich

Red Bull Ring – Spielberg, Austria

Moto3 2017, Round 11

Saturday 12 Aug 2017, 17:32 UTC
# Rider Num Nationality Nat. Team Constructor Constr. Time/Gap
1 Gabriel Rodrigo 19 RSM RBA Racing Team KTM 1'36.503
2 Juanfran Guevara 58 SPA RBA Racing Team KTM +1'36.615
3 Aron Canet 44 SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda +1'36.690
4 Enea Bastianini 33 ITA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda +1'36.716
5 John Mcphee 17 GBR British Talent Team Honda +1'36.790
6 Bo Bendsneyder 64 NDL Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM +1'36.793
7 Andrea Migno 16 ITA SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM +1'36.811
8 Philipp Oettl 65 GER Schedl GP Racing KTM +1'36.955
9 Fabio di Giannantonio 21 ITA Del Conca Gresini Moto3 Honda +1'36.967
10 Joan Mir 36 SPA Leopard Racing Honda +1'36.989
11 Romano Fenati 5 ITA Marinelli Snipers Team Honda +1'37.006
12 Livio Loi 11 BEL Leopard Racing Honda +1'37.020
13 Jorge Martin 88 SPA Del Conca Gresini Moto3 Honda +1'37.023
15 Adam Norrodin 7 MAL SIC Racing Team Honda +1'37.128
16 Nicolò Bulega 8 ITA SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM +1'37.147
Rider Standings
Sunday, 6 Aug 2017 - Open world standings grid
# Rider Num Nationality Nat. Points Pts. Team Constructor Constr.
1 Joan MIR 36 SPA 190 Leopard Racing Honda
2 Romano FENATI 5 ITA 148 Marinelli Snipers Team Honda
3 Aron CANET 44 SPA 126 Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda
4 John MCPHEE 17 GBR 93 British Talent Team Honda
5 Jorge MARTIN 88 SPA 89 Del Conca Gresini Moto3 Honda
6 Marcos RAMIREZ 42 SPA 87 Platinum Bay Real Estate KTM
7 Fabio DI GIANNANTONIO 21 ITA 85 Del Conca Gresini Moto3 Honda
8 Andrea MIGNO 16 ITA 83 SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM
9 Juanfran GUEVARA 58 SPA 69 RBA Racing Team KTM
10 Enea BASTIANINI 33 ITA 59 Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda
11 Nicolò BULEGA 8 ITA 57 SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM
12 Philipp OETTL 65 GER 44 Schedl GP Racing KTM
13 Bo BENDSNEYDER 64 NDL 38 Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM
14 Tatsuki SUZUKI 24 JPN 38 SIC58 Squadra Corse Honda
15 Darryn BINDER 40 RSA 35 Platinum Bay Real Estate KTM
16 Jules DANILO 95 FRA 29 Marinelli Snipers Team Honda
17 Livio LOI 11 BEL 24 Leopard Racing Honda
18 Gabriel RODRIGO 19 RSM 17 RBA Racing Team KTM
19 Niccolò ANTONELLI 23 ITA 16 Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM
20 Ayumu SASAKI 71 JPN 16 SIC Racing Team Honda
21 Adam NORRODIN 7 MAL 16 SIC Racing Team Honda
22 Nakarin ATIRATPHUVAP 41 THA 9 Honda Team Asia Honda
23 Kaito TOBA 27 JPN 6 Honda Team Asia Honda
24 Danny KENT 52 GBR 6 Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM
25 Albert ARENAS 75 SPA 6 Mahindra Motard Aspar Mahindra
26 Jakub KORNFEIL 84 CZE 5 Peugeot SaxoPrint RTG Peugeot
27 Marco BEZZECCHI 12 ITA 4 CIP Mahindra
28 Lorenzo DALLA PORTA 48 ITA 2 Mahindra Motard Aspar Mahindra
29 Dennis FOGGIA 10 ITA 2 Platinum Bay Real Estate KTM
30 Tony ARBOLINO 14 ITA 1 SIC58 Squadra Corse Honda